Doom and delirium

Isn’t it great when you find something really obscure? I’m a big fan of Spanish hardcore, I consider it one of the best expressions of the genre in its European emanation, along with the Italian, Swedish and Finnish ones. I had my fair slice of it, from the big ones like H.H.H. or Eskorbuto, to the lesser known acts, but Delirium Tremens really eluded me. These guys were from the Basque country, sharing ground with legends like Eskorbuto, R.I.P. and Kortatu. The main difference with those bands is that Delirium Tremens are way more on the ultra-hardcore side of things, often leaning to the almost-noise approach, feeling they achieved mixing a very raw recording with a rabid execution. Eleven tracks of pure fierce old school hardcore, easy to but beside Kuolema, early Wrecthed, Kangrena or Ruido De Rabia. This was a great surprise and a little but really really satisfying tile in the wide and always interesting mosaic that is the Spanish scene as a whole. The main drag is that Delirium Tremens seems like a ghost band. This is their only record, originally released in 1984 as a tape called “Que se vajan ya!!!”. No compilation tracks, no other demos, no live recordings, nothing. I’m very curious to discover if these guys went on in some other forms or playing in other bands, because this record really RIPS. There’s an absolutely non-expensive limited edition on green vinyl with obi strip, otherwise the regular black one (which I own) is super cheap and easy to find, a classic amazing bargain.

~ by petetheripper on January 17, 2021.

Leave a comment