Cyjan, an eulogy.

My first approach with Dead Infection was -ironically- with them covering “Total dismemberment of a female corpse” by Regurgitate on the OEF compilation. It was 2003. That year I started digging in the underground and Dead Infection was hands down one of the main names of my trip. I bought the “The lethal collection” CD and I still remember the feeling that I had unpacking it on the bus on my way back home. I was used to ultra-professional band photos and the mosaic of them playing live in the picture of the tray card was so different that stuck in my mind forever. Nothing special, of course, just the feeling of listening to someone you could hit up for a beer or two without problems. I didn’t know it back then, but that was my first taste in what underground music really means. During the years I started to get a lot of their releases and it probably sounds too predictable, but “A chapter of accidents” really stood out, as a perfect diamond among amazing jewels. I really loved all the incarnations of the band, even if I started to feel they were getting lame in choosing concepts in the later part of their career. I never got the chance to see Dead Infection live and it really hurts me, but I think that life goes like this. Before starting this blog I used to write for an Italian webzine and I interviewed Cyjan. It was amazing having the chance to chat with someone that I felt like an old friend. Dead Infection MUST be considered in the top tier of great goregrind bands and I hope that this terrible loss gives the chance to a lot of us to spin some of their amazing records one more time. See you on the other side, Cyjan.

~ by petetheripper on February 25, 2020.

Leave a comment